Saturday, 14 December 2013

Virginity as the bane of the female existence


“Did you know that when I married your mother, she was a virgin?”  So, I was walking past my t.v. and I heard this and had to do a double take. What? Now I wasn’t surprised at this because I think virgins are needles in a haystack or anything absurd like that. I had to do a double take because I’m like how can you judge the quality of an individual by whether or not they have a hymen. Really! I think what really got me was the image of a woman nodding in her head in agreement of this illusion of self-worth. Bonjour a tous, welcome to the fucked up reality in which we exist. Now I have got a couple issues with the aforementioned situation, firstly how backward and juvenile it is to judge an individual based on whether or not they have a hymen, and why this concept of virginity is the bane of the female existence. I will try not to digress too much. Anyways back to the issue.

How can you? and what right do you have to judge a woman’s character based on whether or not she has a hymen. Really, well for those of you that didn’t really listen in biology class a hymen is that little piece of skin, or whatever, that rips when a women is “disvirgined,” (I actually don’t agree with the use of the word disvirgined because it tends to denote that something has been lost)
 I think I would be more okay with it if it was used in the same way on both sides or carried the same weight. Anyways, yeah so you have sex for the first time, you lose that little skin and then you are on your way to sexual deviancy! Voila! So easy.  Now my problem with this is, how can you tell if I am a good person, or even a serial killer who will scoop your eyes out, by whether or not I have a hymen; I know very sexual virgins and very prude non virgins. I know girls that only have anal, because they want to “protect their virginity,” or girls that would do anything but have vaginal sex because “they are keeping it for their husbands.”  Really? And I am not saying there is anything wrong with being sexually expressive, apart from the possibility that you will burn in hell, along with those judging you #party! I just don’t understand why being a virgin is given so much power in our society. Because I have found that a nice amount of people, in this fun and highly backward country of Nigeria feel the need to do this to a lot of women. They assume that once a woman “loses” her virginity, she is somehow less clean or pure; and for me, if that is what you want to believe that could be okay, but it has to apply to both sexes. We exist in a world where it is okay for a guy to be sexually expressive but it is a no-no for a woman. A guy I was dating once said in the most chauvinistic air possible, that “if a key opens many locks, it is a master key and if a lock gets opened by many keys it is a bad lock.” This was the point I really started to doubt the relationship. Why is my vagina a lock? And do you really think your penis is a key? It was absurd.

I’m digressing, anyhoo…My problem is, what gives a man the right to tell me or any other women whether or not we are clean. Especially if that man is one of those who probably changes girls like he changes his boxers. And why do we as women let them perpetuate that bullshit. And this, ladies and gentlemen brings me to the second point.

Virginity as the bane of the female existence. Imagine if there was no such this as being a virgin, or at least there was no way to know. That’d be weird right, how would you be able to tell if someone was a slut or a pure untouched flower. Well I dunno, unfortunately that is not the world we live in. The problem with virginity is not so much that it exists; it is that we as women give it so much power, and it is that power that the men use against us. That is why you see people with an air of arrogance proclaim “ I am still a virgin,” at that point I usually want to be like whoopty-do you did not have sex, do you want a medal or a high-five? Yes, we live in an overly sexualized world, but really I don’t think it is that big of a deal. And because we as women constantly push this message that our virgin status somehow supersedes who are, men the dogs that they are, feel that need to capitalize on this.

And we let them, because for some of us it is a sense of pride, a pride that we have grown up with, a pride that is closely tied to who we are as individuals and we don’t want to let the cursed privilege free. We want to hold on to it for as long as we can benefit from it. So while we are still virgins we smile when people complement our strength and self-preservation and once we lose that skin, we scream and cry out injustice about the thing we once held so dear. So in the end we build ourselves up to be torn down, and then we complain.

3 comments:

  1. Good write up Sab. I think people are products of their environment: dogma, religion, upbringing but in all, it seems maturity is missing in all of these. People become sexually active at different stages of life. That's life! Once you pop you can't... :) More importantly, when I hear some opinions, I like to ask why its like that and I realize some never had the opportunity (maybe living with parents or guardian), some are scared, some were molested as kids, some are religious and you realize life is full of colour
    By the way for those who can decrypt :
    01101000 01110100 01110100 01110000 00111010 00101111 00101111 01110111 01110111 01110111 00101110 01111001 01101111 01110101 01110100 01110101 01100010 01100101 00101110 01100011 01101111 01101101 00101111 01110111 01100001 01110100 01100011 01101000 00111111 01110110 00111101 01101100 00110111 01001110 01100111 01001100 01000001 01110010 01001010 01101001 01100100 01011001

    cheers

    ReplyDelete
  2. Men are to be held accountable for their own virginity as well as women are held accountable for theirs. That's my wisdom on this subject. In addition, virginity is a holy thing for both sexes, but however, this doesn't mean that if someone is no longer a virgin that they are evil. If that is the case, what do we say to those who were once virgins but are now married and are holy people still?

    ReplyDelete
  3. My boyfriend and I were just laughing about words used to describe a woman having sex for the first time. Disvirgined, defiled, deflowered was the funniest . We were like ' wow when I saw you I thought you were the Lily of the valley , now you are just the valley' . The point is we can laugh about it because we are different from others. Our personal way of life is different from other cultures eg the Nigerian culture. I can't fault Nigerians for having such a mentality. It obviously keeps them happy, the heterosexual women have a certain pride in their virginity and the men in marrying a virgin. As for me and my future partner, who will obviously be the one of the only things in my life that matter, our pride in ourselves lies in our many other attributes.

    ReplyDelete